Keeping The Peace

Peace

 

Matthew 5:9

“Blessed are the peacemakers, for they shall be called sons of God.”

Every once and awhile you come across a verse that isn’t as glamorous as, “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.” or “For I know the plans I have for you declares the Lord, plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” Sometimes the word of God will do what no other book can really do as well, and that’s challenge you and also call you up to a higher way of living. That single verse in Matthew chapter 5 does exactly that. “Blessed are the peacemakers, for they shall be called sons of God.”

I’m a son, a brother, a boyfriend, an employee, a cousin and a friend and if there is one thing that being all of those things has in common, it’s the fact that there will be disagreements. I find that it’s number one, inevitable, but also healthy if we can look at them the right way. It’s the way that we handle these disagreements that will determine how situations and even relationships will turn out. I don’t know if you have ever had a time where you found yourself in an argument and you just stopped and thought to yourself, “What am I even arguing about?”. I know I have, times where I can get so bent on arguing a point that I get lost in the arguing and don’t even know why it is that I am so heated. With that example and Matthew 5:9 in mind it brings me to what I want to say.

If we are going to succeed in our relationships, there will be times where we will have to want to make peace over wanting to be right.

I’ll be the first to admit that this is a hard to do. I know that in the moment you want to get angry, you want to give into emotions, sometimes you want to keep the arguing going. It’s almost like sometimes we feel that once we start arguing there has to be a winner, but the thing about that is that whoever wins we all lose. My mom always says, “you have to pick your battles”. If we are honest with ourselves and even take a second to look back on even this past week, the things we have chosen to go to war over most likely don’t even matter that much. Also think about the people who we are arguing with, the ones who mean everything to us, why do we want to cause them any pain. Today, wherever you are at let me say that I know we are all works in progress, but the important thing is that we make the progress.

Matthew 5:9: “Blessed are the peacemakers, for they shall be called sons of God.”

It is a hard verse for sure but let me encourage you, God never would have allowed it to be written down and put in the Bible if it wasn’t something He desired for you and I, and was willing to walk with us until we have accomplished His will in that particular area. So the next time that you find yourself about to respond with anger or talk back or argue, remember how much love you have for the person. Remember that God wants us to be ones who sow peace not discord, and if we are going to do that we will have to sometimes be willing to make peace over making our point.

 

God bless,

Terry Molinaro

 

 

Keeping The Peace

One thought on “Keeping The Peace

  1. Sandy Ann Humphreys says:

    I know this couple who are always challenging me to do what they tell me to do and they say it is just a suggestion but usually about my weight and how I should be exercising more and not eating this or that…not actually about anything that is of their business and I really find it annoying but put up with it without getting angry just hoping they will go away, and leave me alone and stop keeping me in their line of fire of questioning what my decisions are and how they are right and I should really do what they suggest blah blah blah I grew up in a family with a naturpath doctor and we were the first to use whole wheat bread on our block and cane sugar/ brown sugar and I still don’t know to this day why we never ate pork of any kind including hot dogs but I like them now and I like to eat them occasionally. According to many people they are filled with the garbage meat leftovers but I cannot stand veggie dogs, so I do have an occasional dog, sometimes even a sausage dog…my dietitian says the scale is not the only thing in wellness but diet, exercise, genetics, medications, mental health, etc. so I tend to stay away from people who think I am not trying hard enough to stay healthy…even though they say they care about me, and my health…they will just have to accept me or move on…and if they don’t want to be my friend, or go out with me…let me be…even if I die alone…please don’t be that couple

    Like

Leave a Reply

