More Than Opportunities

1

I remember listening to someone talk about how they knew someone who read books very differently than most people. They had to start by reading the ending. Apparently, it was because they didn’t want to start the book and invest the time in reading it if the ending didn’t turn out well. Personally, I think that ruins the imagination aspect of reading a book and even takes out some of the fun, but it got me thinking. If I knew the ending to a few things in my life, it would certainly be easier to keep going when maybe I got to a place that was difficult to get through, or maybe not very interesting.

We live in a day and age where we all have access to amazing opportunities via the internet and social media. For example, my younger cousin blew me away when she showed me that she made her own website and is selling iPhone cases directly to consumers by target advertising to a specific demo on Facebook. Over the past little while I’ve been listening to people’s stories, and the opportunities that are available to us via the internet and even social media just blows me away.  Sometimes opportunity can come to us and if we aren’t careful it can replace our purpose.

Talking about reading the end of a book, the last two verses in the Bible say this, “He who testifies to these things say, “Surely I am coming soon.” Amen. Come, Lord Jesus! The grace of the Lord Jesus be with all. Amen.” I don’t know if you’ve ever read the Bible, or what that verse even means to you. When I think about the beginning of creation in Genesis, when I think about the Israelites and Psalms and the prophets and Jesus and His ministry and the book of Acts and then the telling of the end of days and suddenly it ends with, “Surely, I am coming soon.” Amen. Come, Lord Jesus! The grace of the Lord Jesus be with all. Amen.” There’s a sense of urgency that really stands out to me. I know that for generations people have said that their generation was the final generation, that God was going to come back in their day and age. If we get into the Word, we can see things unfolding in todays day and age that have never been before. I don’t know what it is, but in my spirit I feel a sense of urgency, like something is coming, I feel like the days of a 9-5 job, go home, save for retirement and die with the mortgage and white picket fence are coming to an end. Now I don’t want this to come across as scary even though it can easily be, today I just wanted to take a second to encourage you as well as remind you that in a day full of opportunities, don’t lose your purpose. Don’t lose the calling that God has placed on your life. Don’t let it go to waste or ignore it or put other things as priority over it. Even if you are at a job right now or heading towards a career path, let me challenge you to get into the Word, seek God for His purpose and plans for your life, where He wants you to be, then never look back. A big lie that we believe is that we all have unlimited time, or someone else will do it, someone else will do the work. While there is truth in the fact that if we don’t do what God has for each of us to do, it will be given to someone else who will, there are things that God made each of us to do. If we don’t get ahold and walk into them, what’s the point of our lives? The truth is, there’s only one me and there’s only one you, we are the body of Christ, which means that we are all equally important, but it also means that if we are going to be a healthy body we all need to do our part. Are we?

 

More Than Opportunities

Leave a Reply

