For Granted

For Granted.png

I wonder who or what you take for granted?

I’ve been going to the same church for as long as I can remember, people have come and gone throughout the years but the pastor (as far as I can remember) has been the same guy. A few years ago I remember going to church and just being so bored, I would look around, write notes to people sitting next to me and strategically plan my water breaks so I could break up the sermon. It’s sad to say, but this went on for awhile. I didn’t know I was missing out on anything, it was just my reality. Well, I remember when I was 18 years old (I’m 23 now) I realized how ridiculous my lifestyle was. I called myself a Christian, I knew the talk and the mannerisms of a Christian (or so I thought) but I held onto fear and my lifestyle choices. I didn’t fully give my life to God, sure I said that I did, but I didn’t. So there I was, 18 years old, jumping right into whatever God had for my life. My life has never been the same since. I remember I went back to church one day, and it’s like I heard my pastor speak for the first time. At the end of the message I turned to my mom and asked her honestly, “When did he start speaking like that!” She looked back at me and told me that he always spoke and taught on the word of God like that. You see it wasn’t the  pastor or his message that needed to change, it was my heart. As soon as I opened myself up to be able to receive what he was saying, I did.

So many of us walk around empty. Today I know more than ever that an empty life is not what God had planned for any of us. We take the little things, the constants for granted. I think of someone I know, he’s a good man with a good heart, always wanting to help people out. I remember this person was talking about his latest project that he was working on, he went on and on about this key person who showed up at the last moment that helped him accomplish what he set out to do. He then brought up another person and situation and another one. I remember noticing something though as this person was talking. You see as he was talking about these different people, he showed me a picture or two, what stood out to me wasn’t the people that were highlighted in the photos, but another person that in all of the situations and photos was in the background. It got me thinking about the constants in our lives. For example it’s amazing how much we take our health for granted until we get sick and vow to never eat junk food again. It’s sad how we put so much effort into pleasing our employers but then neglect the ones that are the most important in our lives. We walk around feeling empty, defeated, looking like the weight of the world is on our shoulders. In doing so, we take for granted the countless amount of blessings that are already in our lives. Just like when I was younger, I wanted to grow in my faith, but my heart wasn’t in the right place.  Week after week I could have had the opportunity to grow, but instead I stayed dry because I took what I had for granted. Or like that man, he poured his time and resources into projects and people that failed him but in the midst of it all there were people that were in the background working hard to help him all along.

Well, here we are, the beginning of a new year. It’s an interesting time of the year, a time where the majority look for things that they don’t have that they want to get. Well maybe, the things that you need have always been right in front of you all along. What are you taking for granted?

For Granted

Leave a Reply

